top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

DHBT Architecture Awards 2021

The Derbyshire Historic Buildings Trust (DHBT) hosted their annual Architecture Awards at Elvaston Castle on Saturday 27th November.

The DHBT makes awards to promote all the best in Derbyshire’s architectural heritage and the Awards are a high point in the heritage calendar for the county.

The 2021 judging committee included journalist and writer Matthew Parris; Oliver Gerrish (Awards coordinator); journalist and writer Julian Glover; architectural critic and writer Hugh Pearman MBE and DHBT Trustees, Ian Webster and Barry Joyce MBE.

The DHBT had given people all over the county the chance to enter their architectural projects for the Awards under various categories following the postponed 2020 event. The Awards bring deserved public recognition to those who work tirelessly to safeguard Derbyshire’s built heritage.

Guests were served refreshments upon arrival in the Hall of the Fair Star. Oliver Gerrish hosted the Awards and Dr. John Goodall, the Architectural Editor of Country Life magazine, presented the Awards.

These were the 2021 winners and those given commendations (further details of each project can be found on the DHBT’s website ( :-

New Building in an Historic Setting

Winner - John Smedley East Site Redevelopment

Evans Vettori Architects

Client - Oasis Holding

Commendation - Hot House, Wirksworth

Mansel Architects

Clients - Lu and Ralph Selby

Reuse of an Historic Building

Joint Winner

Museum of Making at Derby Silk Mill

Architect - Bauman Lyons

Client - Derby Museums

Joint Winner

Ada Belfield Centre and Belper Library

Clancy Nicholls Architects

Client - Derbyshire County Council


Amber Mill Furniture Rural Enterprise Centre

Architect - Tim Nutter

Client - Ann Turner

Restoration of an Historic Building


Radbourne Hall

Architect - Peregrine Bryant

Client - Sir James and Lady Chichester


Crowden Lea

Tom Crooks Architecture

Client - Mr P Young


Elvaston Coach House and Clock Tower

Architect - Alex Gilbert

Client - Derbyshire County Council

Restoration of a Public Building


St Wilfrid’s Church, Barrow-upon- Trent

Architect - Lathams - Matthew Wilde

Client - The Friends of St Wilfrid’s Church


Hathersage Swimming Pool

Tom Crooks Architecture

Client - Hathersage Parish Council

Deborah Devonshire Award

Ensana Buxton Crescent

Architect - Andrew Ryan

Client - Buxton Crescent Ltd

The ‘Conservation Champion’ award was given to Ron Common, who had been nominated by Derbyshire Wildlife Trust, for his outstanding contribution to their project to restore Aqueduct Cottage.


bottom of page