top of page

Architecture Awards 2021t

Our 2021 Architecture Awards were held at Elvaston Castle on Saturday 27th November. The judging committee included Oliver Gerrish (Trustee and Awards Coordinator), Matthew Parris (journalist and writer), Hugh Pearman (architectural critic and writer); Julian Glover (journalist and writer) and DHBT trustees Barry Joyce and Ian Webster.

CT A28.jpg

Winners and Commendations 2021

New Building in an Historic Setting


Winner - John Smedley East Site Redevelopment

Evans Vettori Architects

Client - Oasis Holding


Commendation - Hot House, Wirksworth

Mansel Architects

Clients - Lu and Ralph Selby


Reuse of an Historic Building


Joint Winner

Museum of Making at Derby Silk Mill

Architect - Bauman Lyons

Client - Derby Museums


Joint Winner

Ada Belfield Centre and Belper Library

Glancy Nicholls Architects

Client - Derbyshire County Council



Amber Mill Furniture Rural Enterprise Centre

Architect - Tim Nutter

Client - Ann Turner

Restoration of an Historic Building



Radbourne Hall

Architect - Peregrine Bryant

Client - Sir James and Lady Chichester



Crowden Lea

Tom Crooks Architecture

Client - Mr P Young



Elvaston Coach House and Clock Tower

Architect - Alex Gilbert

Client - Derbyshire County Council


Restoration of a Public Building



St Wilfrid’s Church, Barrow-upon- Trent

Architect - Lathams - Matthew Wilde

Client - The Friends of St Wilfrid’s Church



Hathersage Swimming Pool

Tom Crooks Architecture

Client - Hathersage Parish Council


Deborah Devonshire Award

Ensana Buxton Crescent

Architect - Andrew Ryan

Client - Buxton Crescent Ltd


The ‘Conservation Champion’ award was given to Ron Common (pictured), who had been nominated by Derbyshire Wildlife Trust, for his outstanding contribution to their project to restore Aqueduct Cottage.

Read our blog to find out more about all the Award recipients.

bottom of page