Architecture Awards 2022

Applications are now open for the DHBT's 2022 Architecture Awards.

There are a number of categories so many historic building schemes will find they can apply.

We've recently added a 'Conservation Champion' category and, new for 2022, a 'Craftsperson' one to help celebrate the best in craftsmanship across the county.


The deadline for applications is 31st August 2022.  Finalists will be invited to the Awards ceremony at Elvaston Castle in November.  


To be eligible for the building related categories, the scheme must be in Derbyshire and reached practical completion by 31st August 2022.  


For the purpose of the Awards, the term 'historic' is defined as a building that is pre-World War II. 


To apply, please complete the short application form here.



Architecture Awards 2021

New Building in an Historic Setting


Winner - John Smedley East Site Redevelopment

Evans Vettori Architects

Client - Oasis Holding


Commendation - Hot House, Wirksworth

Mansel Architects

Clients - Lu and Ralph Selby


Reuse of an Historic Building


Joint Winner

Museum of Making at Derby Silk Mill

Architect - Bauman Lyons

Client - Derby Museums


Joint Winner

Ada Belfield Centre and Belper Library

Glancy Nicholls Architects

Client - Derbyshire County Council



Amber Mill Furniture Rural Enterprise Centre

Architect - Tim Nutter

Client - Ann Turner

Restoration of an Historic Building



Radbourne Hall

Architect - Peregrine Bryant

Client - Sir James and Lady Chichester



Crowden Lea

Tom Crooks Architecture

Client - Mr P Young



Elvaston Coach House and Clock Tower

Architect - Alex Gilbert

Client - Derbyshire County Council


Restoration of a Public Building



St Wilfrid’s Church, Barrow-upon- Trent

Architect - Lathams - Matthew Wilde

Client - The Friends of St Wilfrid’s Church



Hathersage Swimming Pool

Tom Crooks Architecture

Client - Hathersage Parish Council


Deborah Devonshire Award

Ensana Buxton Crescent

Architect - Andrew Ryan

Client - Buxton Crescent Ltd


The ‘Conservation Champion’ award was given to Ron Common (pictured), who had been nominated by Derbyshire Wildlife Trust, for his outstanding contribution to their project to restore Aqueduct Cottage.

Read our blog to find out more about all the Award recipients.